RI Minimum Wage Goes Up January 1st

On the first of the year, Rhode Island’s minimum wage will increase 35 cents to $7.75 an hour, increasing the average minimum wage worker’s annual pay in Rhode Island’s by $510.  The state last increased its minimum wage back in 2007.  Labor groups say the 2013 wage increase will affect an estimated 29,000 low-income workers in the state.  Rhode Island is one of nine states – plus the District of Columbia – to increase their state minimum wage rates, including Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Missouri, Montana, Ohio, Oregon and Vermont. The Providence Business News reports that this will raise wage rates for roughly 1 million workers across the United States.  What this means for you:All Rhode Island businesses must ensure that they are paying $7.75 an hour to all those not exempt from the provisions of the Rhode Island Minimum Wage Act.  Contact Muller Law or another employment law firm to see if your workers are subject to the minimum wage.  Workers should double-check their paychecks to ensure that their hourly rates increased as of January 1, 2013.  Contact Muller Law or another employment lawyer to see how this change applies to your particular situation.